The birds and the bees

921163_10152853926935188_107908532_o

It was a usual winter-into-spring evening. Amma was driving back from her yoga class. She looks all dreamy and happy after her yoga classes. C’mon that’s not how Amma’s are supposed to look, right? I decided to set things right at that very moment.

Amma, why do some people have no kids?
Uhhh aaah, they don’t want kids so they don’t have any.
How does that work?
What do you mean how does that work?
How do they NOT have kids?
They decided they don’t want any.
How do they decide to not have?
They just didn’t want one.
How did I come here then?

At this point you could hear a lady singing “This is my fight song” loudly on the radio. You bet, this is my question of the day! After a moment’s silence:

Well, there are all these tiny eggs in a women and lots of tiny fishes in a man. When the fish and egg meet a baby is made.
Do I have eggs in me?
Yes.

Honestly, what 5 yr old asks questions on this level? Isn’t it supposed to be a more direct one like how are babies born? I am glad she didn’t go any further and dropped it at this. I only shudder to think of where this conversation might have gone if she hadn’t. It’s too goddamn early to be having the birds and bees talk with this kid!!! There is no way the story about a stork dropping a baby is going to fly with this feisty kid. Let’s hope I am prepared when she wants to talk more about this. I don’t think my parents EVER had this talk with me. I learnt it at Biology class at school … very theoretical and bookish knowledge.

Until next time …. cheers to the birds and bees and eggs and fishes.

Leave a Reply

